Forschungseinheit Dynamische Systeme
Technische Universität MünchenForschungseinheit
    Dynamische SystemeFakultät Mathematik

Lehrstuhl für Höhere Mathematik und Analytische Mechanik

Dynamical Systems and Geometric Mechanics
An International Conference in Honor of Jürgen Scheurle

12th to 14th of June 2017

Jürgen Scheurle

The Conference is dedicated to Jürgen Scheurle on the occasion of his retirement. The official Festkolloquium will take place on Wednesday, June 14th 2017, 3 p.m. at the Institute for Advanced Study (TU München, Garching). All colleagues and friends of Jürgen Scheurle are cordially invited to join us for this event.

15:00Opening Remarks
Speeches by
Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c.mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann
(President, Technische Universität München)
Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c.mult. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann
(Emeritus of Excellence, Technische Universität München; Former President, Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities)
Prof. Dr. Oliver Junge
(Vice Dean, Department of Mathematics, Technische Universität München)
15:45Prof. Dr. Dr.-Ing.h.c. Heinz-Otto Peitgen
The Role of Mathematics in Changing World Views: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow
17:15Prof. Philip Holmes Ph.D.
Vocal Development in Marmoset Monkeys: Neuromechanical and Social Interactions
Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Verhulst
The Geometry and Analysis of Henri Poincaré
Prof. Dr. Tassilo Küpper
Bifurcation Revisited
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Walcher
Invariant Sets and Reduction of Symmetric Dynamical Systems
Before the Festkolloquium there will be an international symposium. It will take place from June 12th to 14th, 2017 (arrival: June 11th, departure: June 15th) at the Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung, Munich (Germany). Its aim is to survey recent developments and to report about new results in the areas of Dynamical Systems and Geometric Mechanics as well as their applications in science and engineering. It will cover topics from the following areas:
  • Bifurcation and Stability Theory
  • Symmetry and Reduction
  • Invariant Manifolds
  • KAM-Theory
  • Stochasic Systems,
  • Lagrangian and Hamiltonian Mechanics
  • Nonholonomic Mechanical Systems
  • Control Theory
  • Structure Preserving Discretization
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Elasticity and Plasticity
  • Molecular Dynamics
  • Neuronal Networks
Please note, that due to limited space at the Carl Friedrich von Siemens Stiftung, registration for the symposium is mandatory. Free seats will be assigned according to the first come first serve principle. For registration please contact Hans-Peter Kruse.

Confirmed speakers:
  • Claude Baesens
  • Tony Bloch
  • Henk Broer
  • David Chillingworth
  • Gianne Derks
  • Florin Diacu
  • Bernold Fiedler
  • Francois Gay-Balmaz
  • Christoph Glocker
  • Darryl Holm
  • Philip Holmes
  • Peter Imkeller
  • Gérard Iooss
  • Edgar Knobloch
  • P. S. Krishnaprasad
  • Christian Kühn
  • Tassilo Küpper
  • Melvin Leok
  • Lev Lerman
  • Tom Mestdag
  • Alexander Mielke
  • James Montaldi
  • Juan-Pablo Ortega
  • Heinz-Otto Peitgen
  • Geneviève Raugel
  • Carlos Rocha
  • Manuel Santoprete
  • Ferdinand Verhulst
  • Sebastian Walcher
  • Claudia Wulff
Please klick here for a pdf-version of the program.
 Photo album
A photo album of the conference is available here.
 Organizing Committee and Contact Information
If you have any questions or further requests, please contact Hans-Peter Kruse or any member of the organizing committee.

Letzte Änderung: , A. Johann